KETCHIKAN (KDN) — The Ketchikan Flotilla of the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary met by videoconference on Oct. 13, electing officers and swearing in new members.

Anthony Karvelas was reelected as flotilla commander, and David Alderson was reelected as vice flotilla commander, according to Ketchikan Flotilla information.

The three new members of the Ketchikan Flotilla — Doug Miller, Janice Carlton and Liz Buness — were sworn in by Capt. Stephen White, commander of Coast Guard Sector Juneau that extends from Yakutat south to the boarder with Canada.

Also during the meeting, U.S. Coast Guard Lt. Nate Herring, supervisor of the Coast Guard Marine Safety Detachment Ketchikan, presented an Uninspected Passenger Vessel Certificate to FSO-VE Ed Schofield of the Ketchikan Flotilla.

Cmdr. Arthur M. Dehnz, commander of Coast Guard Base Ketchikan, congratulated the newly elected officers and new members.

Dehnz and White gave closing remarks. White was noted that this was the first time that new members had been sworn in during an online Zoom meeting, and he was pleased that it had all gone well, according to flotilla information.