Home | Ketchikan | Alaska | Sports | Waterfront | Business | Education | Religion | Scene
Classifieds | Place a class ad | PDF Edition | Home Delivery

This community wears its heart on its sleeve when it comes to the homeless.

A short-term solution is better than no solution at all.

Laura Jean Straight, 65, died on Oct. 9, 2019, in Bellingham, Washington. She was born to Mildred Irwin and Al Betmyeren on Dec.
Klawock, Thorne Bay tally wins

KETCHIKAN (KDN) — It was a tale of two halves on Thursday morning for Thorne Bay High School.

After falling behind 37-28 during the first two quarters against the Savoonga High School Huskies, the Wolverines came roaring back to win the opening round of the ASAA 1A state basketball tournament in Anchorage, 83-74, in overtime.

Thorne Bay’s Stockton Schwab and Jacob Congdon both recorded double-doubles.

Schwab led all scorers with 36 points, and tacked on 11 steals. He nearly recorded a triple-double, finishing with nine rebounds. Congdon had 19 points, and nearly matched that with 18 rebounds.

The Huskies’ Derek Seppilu also had a double-double, hitting 19 points and 18 rebounds. Caelin Kingeekuk led Savoonga with 20 points.

The Wolverines cut their nine-point deficit to just four points after three quarters at the Alaska Airlines Center. Thorne Bay trailed 53-49 heading into the final frame, and from there a back and forth affair began.

The fourth quarter saw six ties and nine lead changes, including a layup by Congdon in the final seconds to carry the game to overtime tied at 71 apiece.

Thorne Bay outscored Savoonga 12-3 in overtime en route to its win.

The Wolverines will play Nunamiat High School in the state quarterfinals on Thursday at 12:30 p.m.

Scoring Line

Thorne Bay: Stockton Schwab, 36; Kyle Congdon, 20; Jacob Congdon, 19; Joseph Vondoloski, 8.

Savoonga: Caelin Kingeekuk, 20; Derek Seppilu, 19; Elijah Kulowiyi, 17; Joseph Noongwook, 7; Timothy Gologergen, 6; John Boy Kulowiyi, 3; Chase Noongwook, 2.

Klawock 64, Russian Mission 44

The Klawock Lady Chieftains jumped out to a quick 25-11 lead over the Russian Mission High School Lady Brown Bears on Thursday, and never looked back.

After hitting the quarter-century mark in the first quarter, Klawock High School cruised to a 64-44 victory in the opening round of the ASAA 1A state basketball tournament at the Alaska Airlines Center in Anchorage.

Klawock’s Kenai Holien scored 17 of the Lady Chieftains’ 64 points. And both Taya Marvin and Alexia Isaacs recorded double-doubles, in points and rebounds.

Marvin had 10 points and 13 rebounds. Isaacs tallied 14 in each category.

Klawock’s Malory Smith-Turpin nearly joined her teammates in recording double digits in multiple categories. She knocked in 11 points and nine rebounds, and also led the Lady Chieftains with five steals.

The Lady Chieftains will play Buckland High School in the state quarterfinals on Thursday at 9:30 a.m.

Scoring Line

Klawock: Kenai Holien, 17; Alexia Isaacs, 14; Malory Smith-Turpin, 11; Taya Marvin, 10; Valory Smith-Turpin, 6; Shelby Wylie, 4; Zoey Edenshaw, 2.

Russian Mission: Leah Kozevnikoff, 22; Susanna Pitka, 12; Reanna Lease, 6; Karen Nickoli, 3; Jasmine Benage, 1.

Noatak 52, Hydaburg 40

The Hydaburg Warriors made a strong push toward the end of the first round matchup against Noatak High School in the ASAA 1A state basketball tournament in Anchorage on Thursday.

Behind after three quarters, 41-25, Hydaburg High School outscored Noatak 15-11 in the final frame. But the finish fell short, and the Warriors lost 52-40.

Hydaburg’s Cadence Peele led all scorers with 17 points. The Warriors’ Willis Washington also hit double figures, finishing the game with 12 points.

Noatak’s Kenneth Walton had a double-double, knocking in 15 points with 11 rebounds.

Walton’s 11 rebounds gave Noatak the edge against the boards. But Hydaburg nearly outrebounded Noatak, as five different Warriors were able to grab the loose ball against the boards.

Hydaburg had 27 rebounds. Noatak tallied 32.

The Warriors will play Kipnuk on Thursday at 6:30 p.m. in the consolation bracket.

Scoring Line

Hydaburg: Cadence Peele, 17; Willis Washington, 12; Trever Olsen, 8; Guy Sanderson, 3.

Noatak: Kenneth Walton, 15; Steven Stalker, 10; Thurston Mills, 9; Alberet Penn, 7; Amos Sage, 7; Roland Pen, 2; Isaac Smith, 2.