Home | Ketchikan | Alaska | Sports | Waterfront | Business | Education | Religion | Scene
Classifieds | Place a class ad | PDF Edition | Home Delivery

It looks like Ketchikan will be having a warm summer if the high...

One of the most distasteful practices is to use children in an adult...

Violet Katherine Booth, 86, died June 14, 2018, in Metlakatla. She was born Sept. 24, 1931, in Metlakatla.
Jesse Robert Zaugg, 34, died June 9, 2018, in a vehicle accident on Seward Highway outside of Anchorage. He was born Aug.
Petersburg overuns Craig Panthers
Petersburg’s Thomas Durkin goes to the hoop for a layup Wednesday in the Region V tournament as Craig’s Gabriel Almenzor and Bryan Castle take defensive posture. Photo by Hall Anderson

KETCHIKAN (KDN) — The Petersburg High School boys beat Craig High School 68-52 during the 2018 Region V Tournament Wednesday afternoon.

The score remained close throughout the first half of the 2A boys bracket game, but Petersburg managed to secure a 20 point lead in the third quarter that Craig couldn’t surmont.

Craig held an early lead — 18-16 at the end of the first quarter — with the help of 8 points from its top scorer, junior Gabriel Almenzor.

Petersburg then pulled slightly ahead, reaching half time with a score of 33-27.

In the third quarter, Petersburg extended its lead dramatically, with multiple three pointers from junior Thomas Durkin and a series of layups and free throws from senior Mark Neidiffer. The score was 55-35 at the end of the third quarter.

Craig fought hard for a comeback, scoring 17 additional points in the fourth quarter. It wasn’t enough to overcome Petersburg’s strong lead, and the game concluded with Petersburg winning 68-52.

Petersburg will go on to play Metlakatla High School at 4:45 p.m. Thursday at the Clarke Cochrane Gymnasium. Craig will play Haines High School at 9:45 a.m. on Thursday.

Scoring line

Petersburg: Mark Neidiffer 20, Brennan Skeek 13, Thomas Durkin 13, Gunnar Payne 6, Dale Strong 6, Louden Sandhofer 4, Rylan Wallace 4, Charlie Christensen 1, Alex Worhatch 1.

Craig: Gabriel Almenzor 19, Andrew Marker 18, Kayden Bird 3, Bryan Castle 3, John McKinley 3, Wayland Patten 2, Timothy Benolken 2.