Home | Ketchikan | Alaska | Sports | Waterfront | Business | Education | Religion | Scene
Classifieds | Place a class ad | PDF Edition | Home Delivery

Part of solving any problem is getting to the source of it.

It’s about states’ rights.

Alex Michael Wilson, 29, died May 1, 2018, in Pinon Hills, California. He was born March 2, 1989, in San Bernardino, California.
Lester “Ron” Ronald Strunk, 75, died April 30, 2018, in Ketchikan. He was born Jan. 18, 1943, in Glendale, California.
Hydaburg loss puts it in sixth at state tourney


Daily News Sports Writer

The Shaktoolik Wolverines beat the Hydaburg Warriors by a score of 88-59 in the fourth-place game of the 2A boys state tournament on Saturday morning at the Wells Fargo Sports Complex in Anchorage.

A win for Shaktoolik earns the team a fourth-place finish in the state tournament, with Hydaburg finishing its season in sixth-place.

Superior shooting from the field and from the free-throw line by Shaktoolik paved the way to a victory for the Wolverines.

The Wolverines made exactly half of their shots from the field and converted 11 of 15 free-throw opportunities in the win.

Shaktoolik’s 3-point shooting also had a considerable effect on the game’s outcome. Going 15 for 37 from beyond the arc, the Wolverines made 41 percent of their deep shots.

Senior Everson Paniptchuk was key in his team’s win. His 43 points led his team, and he accounted for nearly half of Shaktoolik’s scoring, especially in the 3-point department. Thirty of his total points came via the long ball.

His teammate, sophomore Joshua Takak, led the Wolverines in rebounds with 11, accounting for a third of their total team rebounds.

On Hydaburg’s side of the ball, junior Mike Eaglestaff contributed a double double and led the Warriors in scoring, contributing 28 points and bringing down 12 rebounds in the losing effort.

Eaglestaff went 11 for 16 from the field and shot 67 percent from the free-throw line.

Scoring line

Shaktoolik: Everson Paniptchuk 43, Trevor Savetilik 17, Ethan Evan 11, Joshua Takak 6, Matthew Jackson 4.

Hydaburg: Mike Eaglestaff 28, Trevor Olsen 13, TraeSean Miramontez 12, Herb Nix 2, Robert Warren-Edenshaw 2.