Home | Ketchikan | Alaska | Sports | Waterfront | Business | Education | Religion | Scene
Classifieds | Place a class ad | PDF Edition | Home Delivery | How to cancel

Hungry, uneducated and abducted and wrenched from family, it’s hardly...

Ketchikan has the finest in emergency personnel. You call; they come.

Sylva May (Pratt) Umphrey, 91, died May 14, 2017, at Johnson Memorial Hospital in Franklin, Indiana.
Norman Melvin “Nick” Farstad, 86, died June 22, 2017, in Shoreline, Washington. He was born July 30, 1930 in Ketchikan.
Three KIC council incumbents re-elected


Daily News Staff Writer

Three incumbents were among four tribal members elected to the Ketchikan Indian Community Tribal Council Monday.

Unofficial results were announced Tuesday. A total of 394 tribal members voted for their top four choices for Tribal?Council, and top two choices for Advisory Health Board, as well as whether to approve eight propositions that would amend the KIC constitution. Seven propositions were OK’d.

The top four vote-getters for Tribal?Council were Norman Arriola with 270 votes, Verna Hudson and Irene Dundas with 201 each and Gloria Burns with 188 votes. Other candidates on the ballot were Joseph Reeves (110 votes), Patrick Garza (108 votes), Elroy Edenshaw (93 votes), James Llanos Sr. (85 votes), and Cheryl Haven (83 votes).

The two Advisory Health Board candidates on the ballot, Bertina Yeltatzie and Sarah Harney, also won election with 269 and 208 votes, respectively.

There were several write-in candidates for both elections, though none received enough votes to win a seat.

Seven out of the eight propositions were approved by voters. The only proposition to fail was No. 3, which would have barred dual tribal membership other than in regional tribes. That measure failed, 147-155. The successful propositions include such changes as eliminating the 1/64th "blood quantum" requirement for KIC tribal membership, discontinuing the practice of cumulative voting and barring the Tribal?Council President from also serving as KIC?chief executive officer.

The results of the election must still be ratified by the KIC?Tribal Council. That is scheduled to take place at 5:30 p.m. on Monday in Tribal?Council chambers. The winners will then be sworn in.