Home | Ketchikan | Alaska | Sports | Waterfront | Business | Education | Religion | Scene
Classifieds | Place a class ad | PDF Edition | Calendar | Discussions | Moderated Chat | Home Delivery| How to cancel

Not having a bridge across Tongass Narrows is an advantage in one circumstance — Shell perhaps could have brought its damaged icebreaker into Ketchikan Shipyard and avoided bridge-dangling protesters trying to impede it.

July was a bit of a weird month. Seattle, which set a record for most 90-degree days in a year, appeared to inherit California’s weather, Ketchikan got plenty of Washington’s pleasant 70-degree weather, and Juneau, which set a record for most rain in the month of July, inherited Ketchikan’s weather.

Danny Jay Klotz, 63 of Saxman, died July 23, 2015, in Saxman.
Ellis John Buxton, 80, died July 12, 2015, in Ketchikan.
Kenneth L. Peters, 76, died July 21, 2015, at his home in Ketchikan.
Do your part

This is the week the power of each ballot will combine at the polls to determine who will serve Ketchikan and Saxman and what those elected will do.

Ketchikan's elections are scheduled for Tuesday, with candidates for City Council, Borough Assembly and School Board seeking to fill three-year terms.

The choices for City Council are incumbents Dick Coose and Matt Olsen and challenger Judy Zenge. Coose is retired from the Forest Service; Olsen is an elementary school teacher, and Zenge is The Plaza manager.

The city ballot also includes a ballot proposition, which seeks voter approval for a $43-million bond to expand and renovate the hospital building. The bond will be repaid through an existing sales tax dedicated to the hospital.

In the borough, Assembly candidates are incumbents Alan Bailey and Bill Rotecki and challenger John Harrington. Bailey is retired from the Alaska criminal justice system; Harrington is a retired teacher, and Rotecki is a carpenter.

School Board candidates include incumbent Dave Timmerman, Trevor Shaw and Camille Booth. Timmerman is port operations coordinator for Ketchikan; Shaw is a student, and Booth is director of the Southern Southeast Alaska Technical Education Center.

Saxman's candidates are Woodrow Anderson, Woodrow Watson, Richard Makua and Trudi Swink for three-year terms, and Slyvia Banie for a two-year term. Anderson is a tour coordinator for Saxman; Watson is retired from the Alaska Marine Highway System; Makua is employed by AMHS; Swink is a homemaker, and Banie is a retired life-raft technician.

Saxman and South Tongass Service Area voters also will vote on a proposition seeking approval to combine Saxman and the service area for fire protection and create a South Tongass Water Service separate from Saxman.

These people have done their part, putting forth their names and agreeing to fulfill all of the responsibilities the terms entail. The same is true for the people who wrote the propositions; they have put forth the effort and given the time necessary to give voters a choice.

Next, voters do their part.

Polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m. The seven voting precincts are located at Schoenbar Middle School, The Plaza, the Alaska Marine Highway System ferry terminal, North Tongass Fire Station No. 6, and North Tongass Fire Station No. 8, Saxman Community Center and Fawn Mountain Elementary School.