Home | Ketchikan | Alaska | Sports | Waterfront | Business | Education | Religion | Scene
Classifieds | Place a class ad | PDF Edition | Calendar | Discussions | Moderated Chat | Home Delivery| How to cancel

May 19 will be a remarkable day in Ketchikan. Seven cruise ships are expected to bring 13,226 passengers to the First City, beginning at 6 a.m. and ending at 8 p.m. That's more than 2,000 above the highest cruise passenger day a year ago.

Margaret Mae Bolton, 83, died April 15, 2017, in Ketchikan.
Courtney Marie Marshall, 36, died April 11, 2017, in Seattle.
Marcario Rado, 58, died April 10, 2017, in Ketchikan.
Willing to serve

This was a tough election.

Not that voters had a lot of choices. The only contested race was the city mayor's.

But lack of choice tends to discourage voters from going to the polls.

Thankfully, the sun shone on Tuesday. It made it more likely voters wanted to get out, and while out, well, might as well vote.

It is a right not all enjoy. It is important to do it even when the ballot choices are limited. So thanks to those who voted, showing faith and commitment to our system of government.

That said, it's also important to show support for those willing to serve, even if they run unopposed, as with the Ketchikan Gateway Borough Assembly, City Council and School Board. Ketchikan's most dedicated voters did that.

Once again the seats on the assembly and the board and in the city are filled, and the election is history.

Now the work begins anew with a whole array of challenges and opportunities for the community and its schools.

The people who will be tackling this work are Board Members Ginny Clay, Dave Timmerman, Michelle O'Brien, Misty Archibald, Stephen Bradford, Colleen Scanlon and Ralph Beardsworth; Borough Mayor Dave Kiffer and Assembly Members Bill Rotecki, Todd Phillips, Mike Salazar, Alan Bailey, Agnes Moran, Glen Thompson and Mike Painter, and City Mayor Lew Williams III and Council Members DeAnn Karlson, Dick Coose, Marty West, Sam Bergeron, Bob Sivertsen, Matt Olsen and K.J. Harris.

Thank you to all of you for your willingness to do the public's business and your devotion to the job. It's an incredibly important one, ergo the honor of it. These individuals can do the community proud.